Published: Fri, August 25, 2017
Sport | By Cecil Buchanan

Ronaldo named UEFA best player for 2016/2017 season

Ronaldo named UEFA best player for 2016/2017 season

Real Madrid and Portugal forward Ronaldo won the leading award after top-scoring in the Champions League for a fifth successive season.

This was again the case on Thursday afternoon when the 32-year-old, 82 days on from chipping in with a couple of goals in Real Madrid's latest Champions League final success, was named Uefa's Best Player in Europe.

Lionel Messi and Gianluigi Buffon completed the podium, but while the Argentine went home empty-handed, the Italian was named UEFA Champions League goalkeeper of the 2016/17 season.

Reacting to the award, Ronaldo said, "The same [goals] every year, the same challenge - to win everything that's possible with my club, with my national team". I have to say thanks to my team-mates and congratulations to them too.

Former Pistorius prosecutor could take up private case against Grace Mugabe
Grace Mugabe managed to evade arrest and prosecution in Hong Kong after a similar incident in 2009 when she was granted immunity . Police confirmed on Wednesday that the Zimbabwean government indicated it wanted to invoke diplomatic immunity.

Guardiola says 'nothing has changed' in £22m Evans chase
City spent more than £200 million on players over the summer, with five major new arrivals for the first-team squad. If someone comes, then we'll be happy too. "We try to do our best, sometimes it's possible, sometimes not".

Narendra Modi Independence Day Speech 2017 Highlights: Calls for Building New India
Modi said his government was determined to ensure rapid economic development of the state, ravaged by decades-long conflicts. He said demonetisation had helped bring over Rs 3 lakh crore of unaccounted wealth into the banking system.

Precisely this happened after Ronaldo accepted his latest award on Thursday.

Meanwhile, another Real Madrid star, Luka Modric, received the award for the midfielder of the season. I am so happy for everyone who helped me to win this trophy.

Messi has won it twice in 2011 and 2015, with Andres Iniesta and Franck Ribery the other players to have won the accolade since its inaugural year in 2010.

It was the third time that Ronaldo had won the award which was presented on the sidelines of the Champions League group stage draw.

Like this: